Chairman Wm. Weston J. Newton

First Vice-Chair: Laurie Slade Funderburk

Nathan Ballentine Gary E. Clary Kirkman Finlay III Joseph H. Jefferson Jr. Walton J. McLeod Joshua Putnam Samuel Rivers Jr. Tommy M. Stringer Bill Taylor

Jennifer L. Dobson Research Director

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator

Legislative Oversight Committee



South Carolina House of Representatives

Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211 Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811

Room 228 Blatt Building

William K. (Bill) Bowers Raye Felder Phyllis J. Henderson Mia S. McLeod Ralph W. Norman Robert L. Ridgeway III James E. Smith Jr. Edward R. Tallon Sr. Robert Q. Williams

Charles L. Appleby IV Legal Counsel

Carmen J. McCutcheon Research Analyst/Auditor

May 6, 2016

VIA EMAIL and U.S. MAIL Director Leroy Smith Department of Public Safety Post Office Box 1993 Blythewood, South Carolina 29016

Dear Director Smith:

On May 5, the Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice Subcommittee met to continue its study of the Department of Public Safety. A legislative oversight review includes assessing the agency's responsiveness to the needs of the state's citizens. As a legislator, I am mindful that many of our citizens are state employees, and I sincerely appreciate the service and dedication of the over 1,200 Department of Public Safety state employees. At the next subcommittee meeting with the agency, I intend to make inquiry about issues of importance to these state employees, including, but not limited to, the agency process and procedures for hiring and firing, how the agency addresses employee disciplinary matters, and information employees with grievances are permitted to share without fear of retaliation.

Sincerely,

Signature Redacted

Kirkman Finlay III Subcommittee Chair

cc: The Honorable Wm. Weston J. Newton
The Honorable William K. Bowers
The Honorable Raye Felder
The Honorable Edward R. Tallon Sr.